top of page
  • Writer's pictureLillian Hull

When God Made Horses...

Updated: Apr 3, 2019



When God made horses he gave himself a voice...


You say I am loved when I can’t feel a thing You say I am strong when I think I am weak You say I am held when I am falling short When I don’t belong, oh You say that I am Yours - Lauren Daigle “You Say”

After a bad day recently, I went to the barn. I didn’t want to ride, I didn’t want to work my horse, I had no motivation. Once I saw my horse, Cash, my feelings changed. I saw him and I saw my heart out of my body. I felt my strength return and I knew he would hold me, carry me. Often I feel like an outsider, he reminds me that as long as I’m an equestrian, I will never truly be alone. God speaks through horses to non-verbally remind us of these things.




When God made horses he proved the importance of faith...


I can do all things through him who strengthens me. - Philippians 4:13 ESV

I've only been riding for about a year and I definitely understand the importance of faith in the ring. I never would’ve been able to canter for the first time, jumped for the first time, or done barrel racing without faith. You need to have faith in yourself and in your horse. Have faith that you can do anything because He gives you strength. Never question what you do on horseback as your horse will only believe he can fly if you do. Faith will always be important in all meanings of the word.




When God made horses he brought people together...


Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work; If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up! - Ecclesiastes 4:9-10 NIV

Not only am I constantly reminded I have my horse to pick me back up on my feet, he’s led me to meet some amazing people and reconnect with my sister. Growing up, my sister and I couldn't stand each other for longer than a small amount at a time. We constantly fought and went periods of time not speaking at all. If you read this post here, then you read about how I started riding after my husband and I split. What I neglected to put in that post was that my sister was the one that helped me find Cash. She helped me find a piece of me I didn't know I was missing. Shortly after I got Cash, I moved him so I could board with her in Massachusetts. Now, her and I are closer than we ever have been. We hang out at the barn and ride together often. There's a better understanding of each other and our own hardships. She certainly lifts me up just as I have done for her.


With a barn full of us crazy horse girls, you'll never be the man who falls and has no one to help him up. Horses pull people together. They lift us up and make us confident and that confidence and caring attitude spills into everything we do. We are resilient because we know nothing can break the bonds we have built between each other and with our own horses.




When God made horses he made tangible, living proof of love...


There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.We love because he first loved us. - 1 John 4: 18-19

Not a day passes that I don’t think of my horse. He is my heart outside of my body. He lights up every time I go see him. He absolutely is the define of love to me. I know so many others that feel the exact same way about their own horses. Horses are love that you can see, touch, trust. There’s no fear be their love is pure. In most other relationships there is fear of heartbreak or mistrust or something. I’ve never feared my horses love because I know it is pure and genuine. I don’t fear for him to leave me or one day be unhappy to see me. If anything, I notice a decline in his behavior out of saddle when I don’t see him as often as he’s used to. Cash has healed my heart previously broken by love so I can love again, perfectly.


When God made horses, he made dreams come true for so many little girls. He made best friends and a psychical being for us to rely on when it feels the rest of the world is out to get us. I no longer can imagine my life without horses in it. I‘m thankful for horses bring me strength, healing my heart, bringing me closer to my sister again, and so many other things. When God made horses, he made a safe haven on earth.



38 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page