top of page
  • Writer's pictureLillian Hull

Equine Therapy for Broken Hearts


Now, I’m speaking for everybody in saying we’ve all felt like the girl Nine Days sings about in “Absolutely”. There’s certainly no way to avoid heartbreak in life, whether it be over a man or a job or any other misfortune. Unfortunately for me, a year ago I went through heartbreak over a man and a job within two months of each other. Looking back now, I’m glad it happened because it’s brought me on an incredible journey. After my husband and I separated, I had far more free time than I was used to. I had been with him for years and had no hobbies or things I did on my own. Luckily for me, my sister was apart of a barn that did weekly adult horseback riding lessons! **Read about my how I came back stronger from my divorce here** The lessons were cheap and just something to do, I never would’ve thought it would’ve been these lessons that would heal my broken heart. Two months after my husband was out of the picture, I got laid off from my job. This left me with even more free time for my anxiety riddled mind to wonder. The day I got laid off, I went straight from my job to the barn and I sat there for hours crying on and off about anything and everything including who I was without my ex or my job. I felt like I had no identity. The presence of the horses was all I needed to feel peace. Soon after I started riding, I bonded with a horse that to this day I thank for being so strong for me. The barn let me ride him when I wanted and walk him around and he listened to my thoughts. The horse, whose name is Brick, became my therapist. He taught me new ways to think of my misfortunes. He re-taught me how to love and how to trust.


The power of riding him freed my soul and made me confident over time. I had joy in my life again and motivation to better myself. The small accomplishments in learning something new let me forget all the mistakes that the recent events left me recalling. By the time I got a new job, I was hooked and with my first paycheck I bought a horse of my own. The healing power of horses is completely in fathomable until you try it. Even the fact that I was comfortable doing this would prove the worth of horseback riding as I’ve never particularly enjoyed spending money on myself. In fact, I cried tears of joy when I bought my horse for the simple fact that it was the first time I’ve ever spent a large amount of money on myself. I never felt comfortable with it, but my horse, Cash, was well worth it.



These 1,000lbs beasts are the kindest souls that will teach you more about yourself and your strength than you will ever learn about them. If you struggle with trust issues, they will teach you to trust them and yourself so you can become a better rider but this will follow you out of the saddle too. If you struggle with holding yourself with dignity and confidence, horses will teach you to reach your spine to the sky and carry yourself with power. If you struggle with looking towards the future, riding will teach you that you always have to look ahead and to never look down or behind you.



If you’re struggling with a broken heart, I strongly suggest finding a lesson barn near you. When they say the closest you can get to flying is on horseback they aren’t lying. It’s exhilarating to be quickly “flying” across the field or arena. There’s absolutely nothing like the bond between a horse and a girl. The trust and affection in their eye will truly melt any problems or fear out the window.



65 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page