top of page
  • Writer's pictureLillian Hull

Simple Dates To Enjoy During Hard Times

After last week’s heavy post, I really needed some TLC. Which thankfully for me, it’s my favorite season, and that means Fall dates, food, and more! I hope everyone got to enjoy my Fall calendar for October posted on my social media! (There will be another Fall calendar for November before we jump into Winter!) This calendar will let you know when to expect my posts and what they will be about. I can’t wait to share all the fun things I have planned!

To start off, since Covid is still wrecking so many people’s plans, I’m going to share two dates I got to enjoy with my honey this week! One being at home, and one outside enjoying the season here in New England.

The first one to share is movie night! This is such an easy thing to do but it can also be such a great midweek pick-me-up or date night after your little ones go to bed. With the right set-up and the atmosphere set you can also enjoy so many different “themed” movie nights! For us, since I am heavy in love with the Fall season, we went for the classic magic night. Lights out, candles set, fireplace on, and snacks ready. We chose Harry Potter to kick off our “spooky month” in spirit of the upcoming holiday. We each picked a candy then picked two to share, we treated ourselves to soda, and got pizza to throw in the oven. To make the night feel all the more special, we actually started with the candy! It made for such a fun change and really felt like a movie date rather than just sitting down together to watch something! It was such a cheap date but honestly midweek it just felt so good to take a break from the normal after work routine. After being with someone comfortably, I don’t think you realize how rarely it is you even really cuddle, and I don’t mean laid up against your partner. I mean holding each other and tracing shapes on each other’s skin. The simple intimacy that makes everything feel a bit better.



Some other ideas to make this date more unique and special:

  • Blanket fort

  • Project the movie outside

  • Cosplay your favorite character

  • Make themed foods (such as sushi and snow cones for Monsters Inc. or spaghetti and meatballs for Lady and the Tramp)

  • Movie marathon

Another thing I’d like to touch on for movie dates is that during hard times, some may feel more comfortable at home. I know for myself, sometimes going out and trying new things can be challenging due to my anxiety. Keep your partners preferences in mind while planning the dates too, even if it’s the weekend, depending on the severity of Covid in your area or mentally where they are, they may still prefer an at home date!


The next date my partner and I shared this week was the most classic Fall date of all – apple and pumpkin picking. Every year it seems I forget how fun this is! I loved the weather and walking together slowly, just holding hands chatting about life and our future. We laughed while picking apples, teasing each other for picking bad apples or because my partner is so much taller than him, get him to pick the apple at the very top that are even out of his reach so when he whacks at it the apple just falls and rolls away. We shared apple cider and stole little kisses between the trees. We took bites of apples and talked about which we liked the best. I’m really not sure you can ever go wrong with this date. Admiring all the pumpkins of different sizes and shapes. Taking cute photos and silly photos for mementos of that exact moment. It may just be me, but I can’t imagine a more romantic date. The best part is it doesn’t even stop there. You are brining home pumpkins to carve (or just decorate the front porch with in my case!) and apples to bake or snack on! On the way home from the orchard, we decided that was exactly what we were going to do! So we stopped by the store quickly and grabbed caramel, chocolate, and peanut butter! All the perfect makings for an apple dessert. We simply sliced the apples up and put each topping in a small glass bowl then customized little treats for ourselves. The rest of the apples, we will snack on throughout the week then check the calendar cause we have a football get together this Sunday!


Ideas to make this date different:

  • Picnic at the orchard if you can

  • Bake together and make dough from scratch

  • Carve pumpkins like I mentioned!

  • Hay rides or mazes are awesome if the orchard has them

  • Compete to see who can find the biggest, reddest, or most perfect apple

Again, to touch on mental illness and taking care of your health, apple picking is a great way of exercising without it feeling like it. Exercise is a great way of releasing endorphins and tiring out the mind and body. Doing simple things like this allows you to get out and do something healthy for your body without ever even consciously thinking about it! Good for you for helping your partner and yourself just a bit healthier during times it may feel easier to laze around.


Dates never have to be overly elaborate, just put heart into it and your partner will know it’s special. This year has been extra hard between life events and the virus. I know it’s been a hard year for a lot of us, but this shouldn’t stop you and your partner from courting each other. Simple breaks in routine really make you remember why they are the one by your side. Dates give you a moment of reflection and admiration for your partner. They let you forget all the bad and the hurt of your daily life and just breathe with your partners every laugh. I hope to continue to give you guys date ideas and inspiration of what you can do to make this year a bit better, and remember also that dates don’t have to be romantic nor with a partner. Bring a friend or just treat yourself to a date. Don’t forget to love yourself during this time too. It’s hard sometimes, but don’t stop courting yourself – take that selfie, buy that chocolate, and laugh at your own antics. Can’t wait to talk to you all again soon!



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page