top of page
  • Writer's pictureLillian Hull

A Spring Treat to Make Your Taste Buds Bloom (Rose Ice Cream with Rosé Gummies)


Looks delicious, right? Now I’m no chef, so believe me when I tell you it was easy! Fool proof recipes! I’ll even tell you what I would do differently next time to change it to be even better!


Rose Syrup

First things first, you need to make rose syrup. No shame in buying yourself roses but I won’t judge if you talk your sweetheart into buying them for you either!


What the recipe calls for:

• 3 Roses - just the petals (buy half a dozen or more, you’ll need them for the ice cream or your house!)

• 2 Cups Sugar

• 1 Cup Water

One of my mistakes was using pink roses instead of red, they weren’t vibrant enough to get that rich, nice pink in the syrup. It came out more tan as you can see below.


This recipe is simple like I said. All you need to do is heat the water and sugar until the sugar is fully dissolved, add the petals then simmer on low for 15 minutes - stir occasionally. Then remove it from the heat and let it chill for 2-3 hours before straining the petals out.


This stuff is delicious! My boy said he’d use it as jam! Its like a honey with a floral hint to it, I know it’s usually used in cocktails but I’d like to try other recipes with it! Do you have any baking ideas that use rose syrup? Let me know and maybe I’ll try it!


Rose Ice Cream

This recipe makes a rich, thick ice cream. It’s definitely more of a vanilla ice cream with the rose floral hints in it. I almost wonder if it would be better to swirl the rose syrup in it or on top of it rather than mixing it in. Also, I opted out of using it but I know some recipes call for red food flooring to give a pink shade so it looks more like the name! Another optional thing is to mix the petals into the ice cream but since my boyfriend was opposed to eating petals, I just put them on top of mine.


This recipe calls for:

• 2 Cups Whole Milk

• 1 Cup Whipping Cream

• 1 tbsp Corn Flour

• 1/2 Cup Sugar

• 1/4 Cup Rose Syrup

• 1 tsp Vanilla Extract


In a deep pan, add the corn flour and 1/4 cup of milk and milk out any lumps. Add remaining milk and sugar then boil for 8 minute - stir occasionally. Once time is up, remove from heat. While this cools, get a mixing bowl with the whipping cream and use a hand blender to make into a foam.


The next step is to pour the cooled milk mixture into the mixing bowl. Add the rose syrup and vanilla then mix together well.


Lastly, put it in the freezer for 1-2 hours, stir it up, then put it back in overnight and your tasty treat is ready!


Rosé Gummies


I got this cute mold on sale with this sparkling wine extract from Micheal’s. Of course I had to get some washi tape for myself (3 for $1!).


This recipe calls for:

• 1 Cup Rosé Wine

• 1/2 Cup Sugar

• 5 tbsp Unflavored Gelatin

• 6 Drops Sparkling Wine Extract


To start this recipe, heat up the wine and gelatin until it’s dissolved. Do not let it boil if you want to keep the alcohol content in the gummy. After the gelatin is fully dissolved, add the sugar. Repeat until this is dissolved as well. Finally add the sparkling wine extract.


Carefully pour out this mixture into the mold. I found it easiest to put the mold on a sheet pan since it’s made of silicone and would flex when putting in the freezer. They will be ready in about an hour. My suggestion is to let them come back down to room temperature as they will be softer and more chewy than straight out of the freezer. Once solid, they can be stored in the fridge.


I hope you enjoy this tasty spring treat!

41 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page