top of page
  • Writer's pictureLillian Hull

Get a job - easy!


If you’ve read my post about how horses helped me through a hard time in my life, then you read about how I lost my job. I was laid off two months after my husband and I decided to split up. The next two months were impossibly hard and mentally exhausting. I felt as though no job wanted me as I applied every day to jobs and never heard back. Thankfully, I finally got a call and got the job!


**read about the best way to heal a broken heart here**


Now, I am saddened to announce that this job too, I am losing. I had found out last week that our office is closing and I have two weeks left. Thankfully, I already have a call back and have interview today!


Because of these events, I wanted to review how I got my current job in hopes that I will have a successful interview. I hope these tips and what I have learned will help you as well.

Thinking back on when I got any of my jobs, I only had to endure ONE interview before I got hired. What I mean is, I never went to an interview and did not get the job. You don’t need to have a PHD or have years of experience to land the job you want. All you need is CHARISMA.


Now you might think I’m lying, but that’s seriously all it takes. Walk in there confident about yourself and your skill set. I didn’t even practice the Q/A that most blogs and business coaches will tell you that you need to know!


All you need to do to get the job you want is to know your facts, not only about you but about the job and company you’re applying for. If you know your facts then you’ll be able to simply answer any question the interviewer may ask. Most of the time they will be yes or no with a short explanation. Most interviewers will also ask you if you have any questions of your own, knowing the job expectations and the company should give you enough information to easy formulate a question that will show how much thought you’ve put into applying for this job.


If they do ask you an odd question, it most likely will just be a question to have you reflect on your past experiences which again, with charisma should be a clear, concise, and easy to follow answer. Never answer with negativity and never answer with anything less than gratitude for your last job. Answering fully aware of any struggles you had in the past or anything you enjoyed at your last job will give your hopefully new employer an idea as to what kind of worker you are.


Getting my current job came with such ease that when I started working, many of my co-workers believed I knew my boss from a previous job! It made my transition much easier and made me comfortable with my new boss right away. Charisma also helped all my new co-workers feel more comfortable with me so when I made a mistake or had a question, people were more willing to help me or forgive my mistakes as I learned.


Charisma is not hard but it does take practice, talk often to different types of people - old, young, poor, rich, anyone will do. No this isn’t Sims and you won’t see a progress bar above your head but even talking to the mirror and watching your facial expressions change does actually help. Make sure you’re smiling and don’t have a quizzical look on your face as you practice talking about yourself and your past experiences!


Practice, become charismatic, and go be successful!

7 views
bottom of page